South Africa tour to UAE schedule announced

CricLens Staff Report
July 9, 2013

South Africa will play against Pakistan in its return bilateral series 2013, which the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) will host in the UAE – Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah. The tour itinerary – two Tests, five One Day and two Twenty20 Internationals – has been approved after consultation between the Pakistan Cricket Board and Cricket South Africa.

Pakistan and South Africa also contested a two-Test series in UAE in 2010 which was drawn 0-0. It was Misbah’s first Test series as captain. (Photo: AFP)

The teams will arrive in UAE on October 5 and will play a three day warm-up match from October 8. Abu Dhabi will host first Test from October 14 and Dubai second from October 23.

The first and last of the five ODIs have been scheduled for Sharjah (October 30 and November 11); the second ODI is at Dubai (November 1) while the venue for third and fourth matches is Abu Dhabi (November 6 and 8). Both the Twenty20 Internationals are slated for Dubai (November 13 and 15).

The start of the first Test (October 14-18) is likely to clash with Eid Al Adha. However, it won’t be first time that Pakistan will play on the Eid day. In November 2011, the third Test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka at Sharjah also clashed with Eid Al Adha. In January 2000, Pakistan played two ODIs (against Australia and India) on consecutive days of Eid Al Fitr.

There is gap of five days between second and third ODIs, possibly due to Hijri New year (first Moharram).

Trivia: Pakistan haven’t hosted South Africa for Test series having more than two matches, except for first time when they hosted in 1997 and played three Tests.

Pakistan vs South Africa in UAE 2013

October 5: Teams arrival

October 8-10: Three-day Warm up match

October 14-18: First Test at Abu Dhabi

October 23-27: Second Test at Dubai

October 30: First ODI at Sharjah

November 1: Second ODI at Dubai

November 6: Third ODI at Abu Dhabi

November 8: Fourth ODI at Abu Dhabi

November 11: Fifth ODI at Sharjah

November 13: First T20I at Dubai

November 15: Second T20I at Dubai

Additional input by Mazher Arshad

Powered by Facebook Comments